The madrassah of Ulugbeg was under construction from 1417-1420. Its huge portal has an arch of 15m in width. The mosaic panel above the arch shows a symbolic sky with five and ten pointed stars.The madrassah had a platform for astronomical observations before Ulugbeg's observatory was built, and had fifty cells for one hundred students.
Yalangtush-biy ordered its construction on the Registan. The mosque was planned to operate as a madrassah as well. Construction lasted almost twenty years and was finished in 1660. The richest gilding on the dome, walls and mihrab surpassed all other famous buildings in Central Asia. For this reason, the madrassah was named Tillya-Kari, which means "coated with gold". The dome of the mosque remained unfinished up to the 20th century. At the same time, its faded facing was restored.
Sher-Dor Madrassah was constructed from 1619-1636, in a style imitating Ulugbeg's Madrassah. Ribbed domes on high towers soared over the two-storied facade on the sides of the front portal. Islamic inscriptions, geometrical and floral ornamentation decorate the interior. Especially interesting are the tympans of the portal arch. They are decorated with an anthropomorphic depiction of the sun and tiger attacking a fallow deer. Hence, the name of Sher-Dor - "having tigers".